Magnificent seven for Lionel Messi as PSG star wins Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or for a record seventh time to cap off a year in which he finally won his first international trophy with Argentina.

Messi beat off competition from the likes of Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski and Chelsea midfielder Jorginho, who finished second and third respectively, while Chelsea were named Club of the Year after their Champions League win.

The Argentine has established himself as one of the greatest players of all time – the greatest of them all for some – thanks to everything he has achieved across his career. Most of his success came with Barcelona across a lengthy spell there.

But international success evaded him until earlier this year when he helped Argentina win the Copa America. He was named the player of the tournament after also sharing the golden boot for his four goals.

It brightened up a difficult final season of his Barcelona career, which ended with a third-place finish in La Liga. Still, on an individual level, he managed to contribute 38 goals across all competitions.

A picture to remember! 📸 #ballondor

— Ballon d’Or #ballondor (@francefootball) November 29, 2021

Over the summer, he ended up leaving Barca on a free transfer to join Paris Saint-Germain. He has four goals from nine appearances for his new club so far.

With his seventh Ballon d’Or crown, Messi has extended his lead over Manchester United forward Cristiano Ronaldo (who has won it five times) in the race to finish their careers with the highest number of prizes.

Speaking afterwards, Messi said: “I’m really proud to win the France Football Ballon d’Or once again.

“It’s incredible to win it for the seventh time. I would like to thank my family, my friends and all the people who follow me and always support me, because without them I couldn’t have done it.”

Assessing how Ralf Rangnick will fare as Manchester United interim manager

Lionel Messi beats Lewandowski, Jorginho to prize

The runner-up was Lewandowksi, who was also named Striker of the Year, while Blues star Jorginho was third.

In terms of other Premier League stars, N’Golo Kante finished fifth, Ronaldo was sixth, Mo…


Read More

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.